NFL Mobile: A Big Hit

Posted: January 2, 2011 in Apps

Right out of the gate, I was not sure what to expect from the NFL Mobile app. Being a huge fantasy football guy, I did have to give it a go just out of principle. I was very happy, and very surprised.  NFL Mobile does not do a lot for me, but it does what I need it too.

I don’t use the NFL Mobile app to track scores, or keep track of fantasy stats. NFL mobile is very capable of doing those things, and even has an upgradable player tracker for $4.99 where it will give you updates, and video highlights of selected players. I am a very cheap SOB, and don’t like to pay for things that I can easily get for free.

Where NFL mobile really shines, is in the video content that comes with the free portion of the app. It gives you instant access to the NFL Network. This lets you stream the channel straight to your phone. This is perfect for when you are stuck shopping with the wifeuu, or away from the TV, and just want to chill out and get up to date NFL coverage.

The second thing having the NFL network is great for is that you get all of the Thursday Night and Sunday Night football games streamed right to your phone. Absolutely great for when you are out and cannot be around the TV. Also, I have Brighthouse, and don’t get the NFL Network with my cable subscription. Right from my phone, I get instant access to these live games. When watching the games from the 3G network the picture can get a bit blurry, but most of the time it is still very watchable. If a Wi-Fi network is close by, you can expect a very good quality connection to be made.  You may experience an occasional drop in signal, but that can be fixed by simply restarting the app.

For every fantasy football fan, the gem of this app is having the Red Zone channel on Sundays. This part of the app is golden, just like the other 2 channels you get the live stream of the Red Zone channel.  This shows you every touchdown of every game either live, or right after it happens. You are taken from game to game during red zone opportunities, so you don’t miss a second of the most important action. The best part is that there are no commercials, only football from start to finish.

I must say that this app exceeded my expectations. I love the fact that besides having access to live scores and stats, NFL Mobile  gives users great quality streams of NFL network and games. There are a few shortcomings, and they do try to upgrade you to paid content, but the free content exceeds most others, The future and potential of streaming video apps is on display, and hopefully other quality channels will be added to the mobile TV experience.

Market Rating: 4/5

My Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

